48 photos
Gabriel Fauré: Pavane, op. 50
Jacques Ibert: Flute concerto
Camille Saint-Saëns: Symphony no. 2 in A minor, op. 55

Vincent Lucas flute
Patrick Gallois conductor

The ‘Premiere 4’ concerts are a beautiful synergy between the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra and two French artists to present works by French romantic composers.
Under the baton of the distinguished maestro Patrick Gallois, the concert starts with the delicacy of Gabriel Fauré’s Pavane, an ethereal introduction setting the stage for an evening of French elegance. Τhe principal flute soloist of the Orchestre de Paris, Vincent Lucas joins the Orchestra for the first time and will be showcasing his unparalleled artistry in Jacques Ibert’s mesmerising Flute concerto. The piece exploits the flute’s elegiac nature through intricate melodies and breathtakingly demanding passages. The finale is expected intense, featuring Camille Saint-Saëns’ Symphony no. 2, a work that unravels a dynamic interplay of musical elements, from the fascinating fugal interplay of the first movement to the vigorous finale.

Lefkosia, Latsia Municipal Theatre
28 March 2024